When I Feel Lost and Hopeless

Have you ever felt lost?  Ever felt convinced that nothing will work out and the word hope is a reminder of everything that has gone wrong in your life?

I have been there.  Sometimes it feels like I have been there too often throughout my life.

These days of lostness and hopelessness dilute my joy and usually bring to me tears.

Here are three things that I do:

I pray.  I don’t ask God to fix me or my situation.  I know that if I pray that way and things don’t change on a dime it will be easy for me to convince myself that God is at fault when in reality God is carrying me through it.

I pray to find peace with where God has me, where he has placed me.  I ask for help as I change my will to coincide with God’s

I pray to find space with God.  To just rest in moments when I know the creator of the universe and my saviour is guiding me to calm and quiet spaces.  There are many times when being with him is the only place I feel comfort and rest.  There is little doubt that is why I keep coming back to him.

I wrestle.  I take moments to deal with my insecurities and hurt and wrestle them with scripture.  I go to texts that remind me of God’s provision and grace and his long term care for me.  There are two texts that I was encouraged with at my baptism that I have held on to:

Isaiah 40:30-31

Even youths grow tired and weary,

and young men stumble and fall;

but those who hope in the Lord

will renew their strength.  

They will soar on wings like eagles;

they will run and not grow weary,

they will walk and not be faint.

Philippians 1:6

…being confident of this, that he who began a good work in you will carry it on to completion until the day of Christ Jesus.  

These two passages remind me among other things that my strength comes from the Lord and when I hope in him he continues to work in me regardless of my faults.  These two things bring me hope and joy.  More than anything, when I wrestle with the word of God it reminds me that I am not alone.

I talk to others.  This is the hardest thing for me to do.  I want to help others not be helped but I need to tell myself (that’s right – self talk) that I can talk to other human beings and get the help that I love to give to others.  I talk to my family and my friends.

The Christian faith is not meant to be lived in isolation.  This means in the good times and the hard ones too.  Years ago God brought me to the realization that I was not a rock or an island as Simon and Garfunkel sung, I am part of a community.  Part of being in community is talking and listening.  The Jesus community needs to be and is a safe place for me to live out life in my joys and in my struggles.

If you are reading this and feeling lost, scared, broken and/or hopeless it’s okay to not be okay.  There is a God that loves you and there are people that want to listen and help.  Reach out and know that you are not alone in your journey.

What are your suggestions that have helped you through times of lostness or hopelessness?

3 thoughts on “When I Feel Lost and Hopeless

  1. Dear Tim, I really appreciate your points on how to deal with those times when we are struggling. Isaiah 40: 30-31 is also one of my favourite passages, and I suspect that I may even be the person who shared it with you at your baptism. Have a wonderful day Tim. God bless you.

    1. Yes Yvonne it was you that shared the Isaiah passage with me. I remember that day fondly. You were sitting in the fourth pew from the front on the left hand side with Rolly sitting next to you. What a blessing you have both been to me in my journey with Christ! Thank you.

Leave a comment